Tajikistan visa

Please make sure to check the latest entry information due to COVID-19. 

Covid-19: Rules of entry to Tajikistan

It is possible to enter the country by air with a negative PCR test not older than 72 hours and land borders still remain closed. Please check more information.

Tajikistan visa information

Most travelers to Tajikistan need a visa. An additional GBAO permit (Gorno-Badakshan Autonomous Oblast) is necessary for any travel to the Pamirs. Here is a list of countries that can enter Tajikistan without a visa. Please check the last Covid-19 rules beforehead.

Unlimited stay

Nationals of the following 9 nations are not required to obtain a visa for Tajikistan

  • Belarus
  • Georgia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Moldova
  • Russia
  • Armenia

90 Days Stay

  • Azerbaijan
  • Ukraine

30 Days Stay

  • Uzbekistan

eVisa Rule

The government of Tajikistan launched an E-visa system on 1 June 2016. The eVisa can be used at any border crossing and is granted for tourism and business. Along with an eVisa visitors may obtain a permit to visit the Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Region for US$20. 
Holders of passports of the following 121 countries or territories can obtain a single or multiple entry e-Visa online for US$30 prior to arrival for a maximum stay of 60 days within 90 days:
  • All European Union Citizens
  • Albania 
  • Algeria
  • Andorra 
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia 
  • Bahamas 
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Cabo Verde
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Fiji
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Macao
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico 
  • Monaco 
  • Mongolia 
  • Montenegro 
  • Morocco 
  • New Zealand 
  • North Macedonia 
  • Norway 
  • Oman 
  • Pakistan 
  • Panama 
  • Papua 
  • New Guinea Paraguay 
  • Peru 
  • Philippines 
  • Qatar 
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis 
  • Saint Lucia 
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 
  • San Marino 
  • Saudi Arabia 
  • Senegal 
  • Serbia 
  • Seychelles 
  • Singapore 
  • South Africa 
  • South Korea 
  • Sri Lanka 
  • Suriname 
  • Switzerland 
  • Taiwan 
  • Thailand 
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia 
  • Turkey 
  • Turkmenistan 
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom 
  • United States 
  • Uruguay 
  • Vatican City 
  • Venezuela Vietnam Yemen


Special permits are required to visit the regions within the Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous ProvinceOVIR permit required US$20  and another special permit (free of charge) is required for Lake Sarez.

The visa used to be valid for 45 days within a 90-day period from the entry date you fill in. Since March 1st 2020, visa validity has increased to 60 days. 

The e-visa is single entry, just like the visa on arrival. The 45 days should fall entirely within the 90 days. You can apply as early as you like. You don’t have to enter on the first day of entry, you can enter at a later date as well. Similarly, you can leave before the 60 days are up, you do not have to stay until the last day. Your day of entry counts as a full day, even if you arrive at 23.55. Same with your day of exit: counts as a full day.

Unfortunately we do not have the time to update this page all the time. You can check the latest information from the Tajik government official website.

Page updated 10.8.2020

More About Tajikistan

Scroll to Top
error: Alert: Content is protected